The need of NABH Entry Level Accreditation!

Nowadays, most of the Healthcare Organisations are becoming very prominent about Patient safety. Almost every hospital is striving for quality improvement in actual patient care and patient safety; however, there is no universal rule to estimate the right method of quality evaluation.
Generally, quality measures fall into four broad categories:

1) Structure

2) Process

3) Outcome

4) Patient Experience.

In order to attain the required quality level, a standard construct should be in place  which can take care of the main objective of patient safety and quality of care.

Value of Standardisation

The standardisation ensures improvement in  hospital’s performance.The standardisation consists of a framework based process-driven approach which  is required to bring improvement in the quality .Nevertheless, standardisation also provides option for initiative development in service delivery processes ,resulted into  the expansion of the comprehensiveness of services . The establishment of a quality system in a healthcare organisation facilitates the standardisation of the systems and processes (both clinical and administrative).  The quality system thus acts as a rider for healthcare organisations to focus on needs and expectations of both patient and provider.

Frequently Asked Questions

Post getting Pre Accreditation Entry Level Certification, the HCO/SHCO can then prepare and move to the next stage – “Progressive” or “Standard” Level and finally to “Full Accreditation” status.

The Methodology will not be a one-step process instead of a step by step and staged approach will be used, which is practical for the Hospitals.

Based on the readiness, Hospitals can apply for any stage of Accreditation, e.g. an HCO can directly apply for Full Accreditation or can take this step by step approach.

A baseline assessment can help the Hospitals to understand whether they should apply for Entry level or Full Accreditation.

Small healthcare organisation entry-level requirements focus only on the minimum critical elements essential for patient safety.

The hospital can identify anyone from their existing set-up (including doctor/owner) and train him/her for implementing the standards.

Entry level standards do not demand any infrastructural changes in their standards.

With proper guidance from experts. The implementation becomes pretty smooth.

NABH is an investment, which helps hospitals in improved revenue, patient experience and overall quality.

Governing bodies like IRDA, CGHS, ECHS etc., have been instrumental in spreading awareness about NABH.

NABH Standards are entirely different for large and small hospitals.


If provided with proper guidance, the staff can easily follow and implement standards.

Proper implementation techniques and guidance from experts would be required.